“Mirror, Mirror on the Wall, Are You Smiling at Me?”

Can you spot a fake smile?  Have you ever given someone a fake smile?  I’ll bet we all have at some point in our life.  Salespeople have a vested interest in offering fake smiles to their customers — with the used car salesman having honed this craft.  Have you ever seen a used car salesman who wasn’t smiling?

(I realize that not all salespeople offer fake smiles, but I also recognize it is in their “best interest” to smile even when they do not feel like it.

I just read an article about researchers at the University of Tokyo who have developed a mirror that makes a person appear happy even when he/she is not. A built-in camera tracks facial features in real time, and then tweaks the image to turn up the corners of the mouth and to create the beginnings of a smile in the eyes.

Now I have always believed that people look more beautiful when they smile; perhaps it is because a genuine smile makes a person seem more approachable and inviting.  But what purpose would a mirror like this have? Well, apparently, when placed in retail stores, researchers believe that “happy-face mirrors” will “improve shoppers’ disposition and lead to more sales”.

Really?  So, if I am sad because my puppy died and I go to the pet store and look in a mirror and see myself “smiling”, I might be persuaded to become happy resulting in a puppy chow shopping spree?   Give me a break!

Can we just call this for what it is?  Another attempt at deception.  When I look in a mirror I want to know what I really look like.  If I want to see a 175lb man when I look in the mirror, I can either push my son Patrick in front of me or I could buy one of those fun mirrors that makes me look skinny.  Either way I am deceiving myself. 

A mirror’s job is to reflect the truth about what one looks like – the positive and the negative, and in so doing, stir oneself to correct what is unsatisfactory.  If I look in a mirror and see a piece of broccoli between my teeth, you can be sure I will not walk away smiling at the world.  I don’t want need a mirror that is lying to me.

Did you know that I carry around a special mirror that always tells me the truth? It is very honest in its assessment of me.  It tells me when I am not so pretty, and to be honest, it hurts to see that reflection, but I also appreciate it.  The reason the mirror is special is because it doesn’t just reflect my face, it reveals my heart.  You have the same mirror; it is called the Bible.  And I am convinced that the more often I look into it, the more transformed into the image of Christ I become.

How about you?  When was the last time you stared into that special mirror?

In His Grip,

Terry

About terrylafferty

I am married to a beautiful Christian woman, Jennifer and I have 5 wonderful children. I serve as the minister with the North Hills church of Christ in Pittsburgh,.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Mirror, Mirror on the Wall, Are You Smiling at Me?”

  1. LeaAnn says:

    Very well said.

Leave a Reply

