Is It That Hard To Just Love?

There are a handful of things that can fire me up. And taking advantage of the less fortunate, the weak or the vulnerable nears the top of my list. So when I hear a story like the Ray Rice incident, something rises up inside of me that makes me want to scream.

I think the reason my reaction is so strong is because I don’t have a compartment in my brain to process those kinds of actions. I truly cannot wrap my mind around how or why somebody would abuse someone else.

Yesterday I learned of an incident in OH, where some high school teens tricked a 15 year old autistic boy into thinking he was taking the ALS ice bucket challenge; and instead they poured a bucket filled with urine, feces and spit over his head. They used the boy’s own phone to video it and then posted it to Instagram.

How heartless do you have to be to participate in something like this? Occasionally, the average person will do or say things that are unkind are perhaps even mean-spirited. Usually, they are done in the moment, and most of us regret what we’ve said or done. But to plan an ugly attack on a boy who trusts you and doesn’t understand what is going on reaches a different level cruelty. It makes me wonder how a person gets there. Who was there to teach these boys about love and respect?

I’m sure it’s part of my upbringing – understanding that we are all created by God and not wanting anyone to be treated with disrespect, hatred or maliciousness – that has helped form my sensitivity and the views I hold today. I never understood slavery or the abuse and denigration of blacks in America. Every movie I watch that reflects our past treatment of African-Americans makes me shudder in disgust and shame. And the worst part of it is that some of it was done in the name of Christ. (God forbid!) None of it makes sense to me. How do we learn that stuff?

I was glad to see the students of Bay Village High School rally together in support of this 15 year boy. It persuades me that there is much hope for the world.

I believe it needs to be the Christian individual, the Christian family and the church who must be the light that shines God’s love on every person regardless of their race, appearance, differences or circumstance. Maybe by our actions we can teach our neighbors, our friends and our communities how great God’s love truly is.

In His Grip,

Terry

About terrylafferty

I am married to a beautiful Christian woman, Jennifer and I have 5 wonderful children. I serve as the minister with the North Hills church of Christ in Pittsburgh,.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is It That Hard To Just Love?

  1. Thankfulness to my father who stated to me on the topic of this blog, this blog is genuinely remarkable.

Leave a Reply

