JUST ONE VOTE

What do you care about? How do people know what is important to you? Sometimes I wonder if we are better at speaking our passions than demonstrating them. I hear people complain about our government, but the voter turnout statistics are abysmal. It seems to me if we really cared, our concerns would be supported by our actions.

Case in point: The Hagerman School District in New Mexico had three candidates running for three vacant school board seats. They were running uncontested. All they needed was one vote to win election to the school board, but not a single ballot was cast. No, not one! Zip, zero, zilch!

Of the 1500 residents, no one cared enough to cast a ballot, not the superintendent, the current school board members – not even the candidates themselves! Now I know that some people had valid reasons for being unable to vote, but 0% turnout, you have to be kidding me. As a matter of example, the school officials should have voted. It’s hard to persuade others of the importance of anything if those who are viewed as leaders are not leading the way by action.

This story illustrates to me that if I am truly passionate about something, if I truly care about something, it will show up in my life, not just on my lips! I can tell people all day long about how important it is to serve others, but who will listen if I am not serving.

I will conclude with the question I started with: What do you care about? There are many people in this country and this world that say their faith in God is extremely important to them, but if the evidence from their lives were gathered to support their claim, would it be convincing? I want to leave no doubt as to where my #1 passion lies. I want the deeds of my life to fully demonstrate to the confession of my lips. How about you?

It’s easy to say, “I love you, Lord”, but much harder to live out that passion.

How are you doing?

In His Grip,

Terry

About terrylafferty

I am married to a beautiful Christian woman, Jennifer and I have 5 wonderful children. I serve as the minister with the North Hills church of Christ in Pittsburgh,.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

