Sometimes People Surprise You

It’s not unusual for people to be rude and inconsiderate. And it’s not hard for us to imagine teenagers acting in the same manner, but just because a behavior is common doesn’t mean it should ever be acceptable.

This past week a couple of teenage girls were talking and laughing and disrupting a movie for other patrons. One lady who was there with her daughter asked them to please be quiet and they simply laughed. Fortunately, when the two girls arrived home their 16 year old brother (who was with them) told their mom, Kyesha Wood, everything that happened. He explained how the woman approached the girls at the end of the movie and told them her husband had just been laid off and it was the last time she would be taking her daughter to the movies for a while – and they had ruined it. What the mother did next surprised me. She went on Facebook to try to find the lady who had confronted her daughters – not for revenge, but to apologize on behalf of her daughters. Here’s what she posted:

”This is a long shot, but I’m looking for a woman that was at Tannehill Premier tonight seeing Cinderella at 7pm. I dropped my teenage daughter, step daughter, and son off at the movie. My son later told me, much to my humiliation and embarrassment, that my girls were rude and obnoxious during the movie. The woman I’m looking for addressed them and asked them to be quiet and they were disrespectful. ‘After the movie she approached my girls and told them that her husband had been laid off and this was the last movie she would be able to take her daughter to for a while and my girls ruined that for her. If you are this woman, please message me. I can assure you that these girls are being strongly dealt with and appropriately punished. This rude, disrespectful, and awful behavior is unacceptable and they owe you an apology. My husband and I are having them write your apology letter tonight and we would like to pay for your next movie and snacks out of their allowance. Please message me if this is you. I apologize profusely for their disrespect.

The Facebook post went viral and Kyesha connected with the young mother who had been disrespected and her two daughters wrote a letter of apology. Yes, I was surprised to see a mother go out of her way “to make things right”.

But wouldn’t the world be a much better place if we were no longer “surprised” by the Kyesha Woods of the world, because they were the norm.

It sort of reminds me of an old saying, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.” I think the saying is credited to a Jewish carpenter who lived a long time ago 🙂

In His Grip,

Terry

 

 

In His Grip,

Terry Lafferty

About terrylafferty

I am married to a beautiful Christian woman, Jennifer and I have 5 wonderful children. I serve as the minister with the North Hills church of Christ in Pittsburgh,.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

