Dazed and Confused

Perhaps it’s just me, but I am left a bit confused, perplexed and even somewhat disoriented by our societal standards of acceptable behavior – moral or immoral behavior.  Look, I not the most intelligent guy in the world, but God did grant to me common sense and the ability to reason, so when it comes to Dr. Kermit Gosnell, I am having a difficult time trying to find my bearings as it pertains to our sense of right and wrong.

Dr. Gosnell has just been found guilty of 3 counts of 1st degree murder for severing the spines of three babies born alive after a botched abortion.  I do not know of anyone that would question that infanticide is wrong.  There is just something inside of us that cries out that killing babies is morally repugnant and reprehensible.  But here is where I have become disoriented.  If Dr. Gosnell had snuffed the life out of those babies just seconds earlier, before he pulled their head out of the birth canal, there would be no discussion – there would be no murder charges.  I’m lost in the fact that killing a baby could be murder or not depending on the location of death (inside the womb or outside) – even though the difference could be a matter of seconds.

Simple common sense and reasoning conclude that there is a gross inconsistency here.  Either we conclude that life has no inherent value or that all life is God-ordained and should be treated as such.  But to suggest that Dr. Gosnell is somehow significantly and morally culpable only because he killed these babies a few minutes later in the day is a clear indication of a society that has lost its moral compass.

I’m pretty sure that it probably didn’t make a bit of difference to those children whether Dr. Gosnell murdered them at 12:05pm or 12:07pm.  The result was the same.

Just my thoughts.

In His Grip, Terry

About terrylafferty

I am married to a beautiful Christian woman, Jennifer and I have 5 wonderful children. I serve as the minister with the North Hills church of Christ in Pittsburgh,.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Dazed and Confused

  1. Roy Nance says:

    Appreciate your comments. Some have said that this may make us look at the way abortions are done in this country. I think that is the reason why no media outside of Fox carried this, they are afraid changes are coming, making it harder to get an abortion. We are in bad shape in this country few honorable people anymore. Think of you all often, hoping all is well with you and your family. We are thrilled with our Lois.
    Great-granny Billye

Leave a comment